MosquitoCon 30 A Success!

We’re still putting together the final numbers, but MosquitoCon 30, on April 2nd, 2022, drew over 150 modellers who entered over 500 models in the show.

Contest results are likewise still being finalized, but the Best Of Winners are below. Thank you to everyone who continues to make MosquitoCon a yearly success!

Best Aircraft – Andrei Koribanics Memorial Award 064E AT-9 Jeep John Colasante
Best Armor – Art Gerber Memorial Award 073C Holt Tractor 8inch Howitzer Mike Witkowski
Best Ship – Bill Marshall Memorial Award 009 USS Keokuk Devin Poore
Best Junior  – Molly Klanica Memorial Award 018A Zaku II Jenny Zhang
Best Sci-Fi 019C City Battle Po Zhang
Best Civilian Subject 036C Darrell Waltrip #17 Clay Kemp
Best of the Rest Award 116B Cinnabar Bobby Han
Best Vietnam Subject – Walley Valechko Memorial Award 048B F-4B Phantom VF-111 Nelson Kee
“Tailhook” Award 048B F-4B Phantom VF-111 Nelson Kee
Theme – “Between the Wars” 053D Hinkle Special Bob Cicconi
Judges Best in Show – Norm Kennedy Memorial Award 073G Holt Tractor 8inch Howitzer Mike Witkowski

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

MosquitoCon 29 “Best Of” Winners

MosquitoCon 29 went off without a hitch on July 31st, 2021, setting records for the most models ever at any of our shows, and several other categories.

We’re processing the photos of all the entrants, which can take some time. In the meantime, though, here’s a list of all of the ‘best of’ winners, and some photos from that group.

Thank you to everyone for a fantastic show! MosquitoCon 30 is only eight months away!

Best Armor: Bergepanther  – Mark Kleinfelter
Best Sci-Fi: Ma.K Kuster – Peter Conde
Best Civilian: US Bulldozer – Tim Axe
Best Ship: IJN Taiho – Dan Kaplan
Best Aircraft: Bell P-400 Airacobra – Chad Bowser
Best of the Rest: Bob the Half Orc – Eric Flesher
Best Tailhook: S3B Viking – Andrew White
Best Vietnam Subject: F-4B Phantom – Darrin Cook
Judge’s Best in Show: IJN Taiho – Dan Kaplan
Best Junior: Battle Scar At-ST – William Santucci

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


MosquitoCon 28 Updates!

MOSQUITOCON 2021 UPDATE (7/28/21):
We continue to be on track to hold MosquitoCon 29 this coming Saturday, July 31, 2021. We will continue to monitor the situation and will be following state and venue guidelines the day of the show.

A few things to note (everything is subject to change):
– Each entrant may enter UP TO 12 models in total
– Each entrant may enter UP TO 3 models per category (12 max – see above).
– Door are scheduled to open at 9am for CONTEST ENTRANTS ONLY.
– Doors will open at 10am for non-entrants. This means no access to the contest OR vendor rooms for non-entrants until 10am. NO EXCEPTIONS.

Wearing of masks inside the venue continues to be optional. However, as of today (7/28), NJ Governor Murphy and state Health Commissioner Persichilli announced that they “strongly recommend” masking in indoor settings, for both vaccinated and unvaccinated residents, due to increased risk.

We are anticipating that we will be able to a pretty much “normal” show, though we are expecting a big turnout.

Keep checking back here, or on our website, for updates, as everything is subject to change.

Look forward to seeing everyone again!

MosquitoCon Last Minute Info and Awards

Everything is on for MosquitoCon 29 on July 31st. All trophy sponsorships have been purchased.

There are a few tables left in the dealer’s room. JP Awards will be on-site, making custom nameplates for model bases.

There are limits to the number of kits that can be entered this year, please refer to the flyer for more information.

And finally, an example of one of the acrylic trophies for the contest is shown at left.

That’s all we have. We’re looking forward to seeing everyone on the 31st!