MosquitoCon 31 Wrap-Up

MosquitoCon 31 on April 1st, 2023, was a resounding success. Beyond the 125 Entrants, 571 models entered, and 399 walk-in attendees, we also had amazing entries, great vendors, and wonderful people attending.

Here are the Best Of winners. The rest of the winners and all photos will be posted as all of the information is processed.

Molly Klanica Memorial award for Best Junior (076A) – RX-75 Custom by Jaiming Zhang

Andrei Koribanics Memorial award for Best Aircraft (052C) – CH-46E by Matt Lunn

Art Gerber Memorial award for Best Armor (035B) – KV-1S by James Guld

Bill Marshall Memorial award for Best Ship (092A) – IJN Hiryu by Dan Kaplan

Best Civilian (056G) – Alfa Romeo Tipo 158 by Richard Tool

Best of the Rest (123A) – RX-93 Hi Nu by Jasper Dudley

Best Tailhook (029F) – F-14 Tomcat by Nelson Kee

Theme Award – Best Falklands War (026A) – A-4B Skyhawk by Glenn Thorn

Walley Valechko Memorial award for Best Vietnam Subject (118A) – Navy SEAL by Wesley Lanz

Best New Jersey Subject (024D) – 1956 Mack Pumper Surf City NJ by Tim Bongard

Norm Kennedy Memorial award for Judge’s Best In Show (092A) – IJN Hiryu by Dan Kaplan

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

World Model Expo 2022

World Model Expo 2022 was held in Eindhoven, the Netherlands, in early July. The local club that puts on the annual Scale Model Challenge show ran the event, and did an amazing job. Photos taken at the show by NJIPMS member Devin Poore can be seen on NJIPMS’s Zenfolio gallery hosting site HERE.

MosquitoCon 30 A Success!

We’re still putting together the final numbers, but MosquitoCon 30, on April 2nd, 2022, drew over 150 modellers who entered over 500 models in the show.

Contest results are likewise still being finalized, but the Best Of Winners are below. Thank you to everyone who continues to make MosquitoCon a yearly success!

Best Aircraft – Andrei Koribanics Memorial Award 064E AT-9 Jeep John Colasante
Best Armor – Art Gerber Memorial Award 073C Holt Tractor 8inch Howitzer Mike Witkowski
Best Ship – Bill Marshall Memorial Award 009 USS Keokuk Devin Poore
Best Junior  – Molly Klanica Memorial Award 018A Zaku II Jenny Zhang
Best Sci-Fi 019C City Battle Po Zhang
Best Civilian Subject 036C Darrell Waltrip #17 Clay Kemp
Best of the Rest Award 116B Cinnabar Bobby Han
Best Vietnam Subject – Walley Valechko Memorial Award 048B F-4B Phantom VF-111 Nelson Kee
“Tailhook” Award 048B F-4B Phantom VF-111 Nelson Kee
Theme – “Between the Wars” 053D Hinkle Special Bob Cicconi
Judges Best in Show – Norm Kennedy Memorial Award 073G Holt Tractor 8inch Howitzer Mike Witkowski

This slideshow requires JavaScript.